Chapter 1: Starting Over Again

Welcome back to the Food Legacy, and when I say “welcome back” I actually mean welcome to the Food Legacy Reloaded (Again) for the first time. This is day one of starting over because I lost my save file and had no other choice. It’s taken me years to get over the trauma.

A rare Edamame smile.

Meet our founder, Edamame Food, back in Sims 3 Edamame signed her life (and all incarnations of it) away to the Legacy Challenge Group LLC. (That’s fake, don’t look that up.) This is Edamame’s third attempt at a Legacy Challenge. Hopefully, this one won’t end in disaster. As you can see, I’ve given Edamame a fresh new look, a pixie cut instead of the A-symmetric hairstyle she had previously. Her traits are: Foodie (because, duh), High Maintenance, and Materialistic. Her Aspiration is Successful Lineage which is a contractual obligation. To get us started I had Edamame become a painter so we could get that sweet, sweet cash more easily (we are starting at zero after all). Later, when she can afford it she can start writing her books again.

Edamame: Yes, the world needs to know what I have to say.

Is that right? Or is it that you just need them to hear you? Do you just need an outlet for your complaints?

Edamame: I have to tell my truth.

Truth… Not something that comes to mind when I think of you, Edamame.

I bulldozed the big lot in Windenburg, plopped our matriarch there, and promptly edited her funds all the way down to zero.

Edamame: Will you please stop using that word, matriarch, it makes me sound so old.

Okay… How is founder or foundress?

Edamame: Yes, I love dresses.

Cool.

I’m not going to lie, this legacy was off to a rough start. As soon as I dropped the funds to zero, I had Edamame travel to San Myshuno to paint and earn some money.

Edamame: Only I couldn’t buy a canvas because I had no money. I looked like a fool.

Edamame: Hi, I love you.

Anyway, I sent her home to fish instead. While she was fishing Brytani Cho showed up. And Edamame could not keep it together.

Edamame: SQUEEEE! Can I have a hug?

Edamame: I hate you for this.

What’s new?

Edamame: Oh, it’s like that is it?

Ms. Cho kindly explained to Edamame that she doesn’t touch people because she doesn’t know if they could have some sort of infectious disease.

Edammae: Aaaaaand I was completely understanding about the whole thing.

Indeed.

Edamame: You know what? One day she will be a fan of my legacy. She will want to hug me then.

Too bad you will be dead and won’t get to rub it in her face.

Edamame: What? I’m totally out-living that old bag. You know what? I’m going to out fame her too. Yeah, yeah. I’m going to be famous.

Now you want to be famous? I thought you just wanted people to know “your truth.” That might not happen in the first generation, Edamame. We are struggling for cash at the moment. And can we go back to how you’re going to outlive her, but she is going to want to hug you when she is dead.

Edamame: I don’t care when it happens, generation one or two. If I have to use my spawn to get there, I will.

Oh, that is really distasteful. You’re going to be a stage mom?

Edamame: I don’t know what that is, but if it means I use my offspring to go places I couldn’t go on my own, then yes, I will be the very definition of a stage mom.

Understood.

Nightime coma.

After Edamame’s first day at work I was able to get her a new bed. She appreciated it.

Edamame: Ugh! I swear to the Great Llama above that bed is just a bench with a blanket on it.

Edamame: This is how it feels to be me.

The next day Edamame got a call about a death in the family. Having cut all ties with her family she knew there had to be a catch.

Edamame: When I asked about the conditions they just threw the money at me. I feel like maybe it was dirty money, but I kept it because I really needed the cash.

At least you’re honest.

With the money Edamame received I bought her a new easel and she was able to start a new painting.

Edamame: I painted my soul on that canvas. I give everything I have to my art. I would, however, like to have gotten something shiny.

We couldn’t even afford the toilet and shower I wanted to get you. You can do your part by cranking out those paintings and maybe next time you can have something shiny.

Edamame: I can’t. I gave everything I had to that one painting. It’s all gone now.

Maybe you should have been an actress.

The only part I could ever play is Helen of Troy.

You’re right. Why even try.

Edamame: Exactly. I would be in such high demand that I wouldn’t be able to work. It’s better to be faceless behind my art so people can see me.

I’m sorry. What?

Edamame: Just sit with it for a minute.

I do not have time for this.

Edamame: Who’s going to stop me?
Moira Fyres: Should I leave now?

I sent Edamame off to the cafƩ to get an espresso because she needed a pick-me-up. During the chaos when Ms. Cho showed up Edamame swiped this cannoli off the counter just as I was about to click the espresso.

Edamame: And no one was the wiser. You see how old that barista is? She just thought she forgot to grab the cannoli.

I hope they were worth it.

Edamame: They were. I’m naming my second child after them.

Kinda like you did with Ɖclair?

Do we need to talk about them? They are lost to time and I’ve moved on.

Noted.

Destiny

After a long day of stealing food, painting, gathering collectibles, and complaining, I sent Edamame to Desert Bloom Park in Oasis Springs. I was hoping someone would be grilling and sharing food. And someone was… Akira Kibo.

Edamame: I love his man-bun.

Maybe you will get to marry that man-bun (again).

Edamame: I caught a fish this big.

After eating Akira’s food Edamame regaled him with her fishing adventures.

Edamame: He was enthralled.

I’m sure. You worked hard to catch those goldfish and minnows.

Edamame: Hush!

After her belly was full and Akira left the park I had Edamame sleep on the bench because it was basically the same as her bed at home.

Edamame: No, it was not! The bed at least has a blanket.

Are you saying you missed your bed? That your bed was maybe better than the bench?

Edamame: *mumbles*

What was that?

Edamame: …

Edamame: I sense… a man-bun.

The next day Edamame received a promotion AND Akira showed up right in front of her “house” (it’s really a lawn). By the way, she comes home from work most days with a red plumbob.

Edamame: You have no idea how hard I have it.

Not going to argue with you there.

Edamame: I mean, I have to WORK for a living. You have no idea what it is like to work as hard as I do and still have nothing.

But were you excited to see Akira?

Edamame: At first I was. I thought he was going to beg me to marry him. Tell me he couldn’t live another day without me.

Whoa. That’s a lot, you’d just met.

Edamame: But destiny and a man-bun.

Sure. Makes complete sense when you put it that way.

Edamame: Hellowwwww!

Much to my surprise and Edamame’s complete horror, Akira walked right by her like she wasn’t even there.

Edamame: I was about to say hello and he just walked by.

For once Edamame is speechless.

But that man-bun amiright?

Edamame: Challenge accepted. That man-bun will be mine.

Edamame: Cleanin’ in the rain. Just cleanin’ in the rain.

I sent Edamame off to San Myshuno to paint at the gallery. She took advantage of the rain while there.

Edamame: So humiliating. So many people watched and no one offered me any money.

That’s awkward. I don’t know how to transition from that.

Edamame: What have I become?

As she microwaved some soggy oatmeal, Edamame had an existential crisis.

Edamame: These are dark days and I need a reason to go on.

Think of the man-bun and the money you will eventually have.

Blissfully unaware of danger.

Edamame took a well-deserved nap after painting. She was completely unaware of the weirdo that showed up and watched.

Edamame: ARGH! Stranger danger!

Edamame: I jusssssss need a few minnnn……

I tried to send her home, but she crashed on the way there.

Edamame: Good Llama! I can not believe you let me lie there like that.

What? You said you needed and few minnnnnnn…

Edamame: And after that strange man was watching me.

He probably watched your shower earlier and was waiting for the encore. When I scrolled over his name it said he was a fan, of whom, I do not know.

Edamame: Oh, it’s not as bad as I thought then. Why didn’t you say so in the first place. I need to always remember my fans, it’s how I stay humble.

A place to call home?

With all of Edamame’s hard work and sold paintings I was able to give her the outhouse of her dreams. As well as a cooler and new bed. I also gave the lot the Microhouse trait. Those skills should be climbing fast now.

And this is where I will leave this update. Right now we have a total of 2 points. One for Generation One, and I’m giving us the extreme start point for starting with zero money.

Points: 2

3 thoughts on “Chapter 1: Starting Over Again

  1. AHHH I’m here! And I’m glad to see Edamame is back (again!) I know I’m several months late and I got a long way to go, my backlog is already looking uglier by the day, but I’m glad you’re still around šŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Welcome, welcome, welcome! I’m glad that you are still around as well. I hope you enjoy this iteration of the Food Legacy. Hopefully I will be able to complete it this time and not have another restart.

      Like

Leave a comment