Chapter 13: Bun in the Oven

Welcome back to the Food Legacy last time we had a bunch of birthdays, a marriage, and Adzuki died on the back porch. As you can guess by the title Generation 2 is getting started on Generation 3!

Cannoli and Ham are taking their job seriously and are at work bringing Generation 3 to the house. Cannoli could be the heir, if she is we will have a headstart, if not, she and her family will be moved out.

Behind them on the wall, are the portraits Cannoli took of her parents last chapter. That’s another point for me.

Edamame: You mean me, I get the point.

No. One, you hardly ever get the point, and two you will die and you can’t take the legacy points with you. I get them.

Edamame: You’re awful.

In the kitchen, Frosting is doing her homework pretending she can’t see the makeout session happening in the living room.

Edamame: I’m sure she can hear it though.

Gross.

Gnocchi aged into a child. Look there is an actual cake this time! I’m such a pro!

Gnocchi rolled perfectionist and had maxed motor, creativity, and social. That’s three skills, another point. It’s almost like I’m good at this game. Do not be deceived!

No one looks particularly happy with her new look. She does get a makeover, but I didn’t take pictures of it. Her favorite colors are green, yellow, and white inspired by gnocchi and the sauces used on it.

Edamame: I can’t believe you forgot the makeover. That’s my favorite part.

Of course it is, you’re shallow.

Frosting invited Jermaine Kealoha over to play video games. Jermaine is Amie Kealoha’s younger brother.

And Frosting has a crush on Jermaine! This has so much promise! If Egg and Amie get married and have children and Frosting and Jermaine do too their children will be so closely related to each other they will basically be siblings, cousin-siblings.

Edamame: No, no no. We can’t have incest in this family. I won’t allow it. And who is Amie? You keep talking about this person, but I have literally never met them.

You are impossible, Edamame. Amie is Egg’s girlfriend.

Edamame: Nope. Doesn’t ring a bell.

A fine example of teenage bonding. Too bad this doesn’t increase friendship.

After the game, Frosting decided to tell Jermaine that she had a crush on him.

Frosting: Psst, I think you’re one hot potato.

Jermaine was very accepting of this news.

Edamame: He does have a man-bun. I guess the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree.

Daiquiri is constantly knocking over the trash. I am not amused.

Daiquiri also watches TV constantly. The electric bill is going to be incredible.

Did I mention Cannoli is pregnant? I’ve got my kids thinking about foods that start with the letter I.

Edamame: I like Idamame.

That’s not a thing.

On Egg Day the extended family was invited, and the giant bunny showed up without invitation.

Ham told his family the pregnancy news. Everyone was happy.

Frosting gossiped about Egg’s fashion choices again.

Frosting: Did you see what my brother is wearing? Hello, 1932 is calling and would like its clothing back! Shhh, he’s behind you, play it cool.
Evie: Does he shop at the thrift store?
Frosting: No, he picked those on purpose.
Evie: *cringe*

I thought it might be nice to have Evie and Egg get married, but she was never very interested in him.

Edamame: Can’t be his clothing choices. It would be nice if Egg had a girlfriend though.

Really? You are the absolute worst.

Edamame: What did I do now?

We also completed the egg collection. Too bad we couldn’t have done this while Adzuki was alive. That has earned me another point.

Supriya Delgato can’t get enough of the baby bump.

Supriya Delgato: Hello, little one. I’m your gramma.

Edamame: How pathetic does she look talking to Cannoli’s belly?

She looks excited.

Edamame: Excitement is for losers. I prefer cold disdain and looking regal.

Bacon on the other had…

Cannoli: Go on and feel the baby, Bacon.
Bacon: No.

The next day Ham was promoted to Assistant to the Manager. Things are looking up for Generation 2! I think I forgot to mention that Ham’s favorite colors are red, pink, and brown, because of ham…

Frosting and Jermaine decided to become a couple.

Edamame: It’s because she’s so beautiful. She could have her pick, but she chose one with a man-bun. I am so proud. They will have beautiful children.

Whoa, they aren’t married yet.

Unfortunately, Gnocchi was in the room when they kissed and she was totally grossed out.

They decided to move to a new room for more privacy.

Edamame: Is that my bedroom? Are they in my bed? Noooooo!

And here I was thinking all that noise was from the dishwasher.

Edamame waits up at night hoping for a visit from her husband.

I hope you washed those sheets.

Edamame: I didn’t know!!

Cannoli went into labor and she and Ham were off to the hospital where they were met with a ghostly receptionist.

Cannoli: Hi, is there a physical-form doctor here that can deliver my baby?

Edamame: This brings back awful receptionist memories.

Luckily there was a doctor there that could deliver Cannoli’s baby. Meet baby girl, Injera Food. Please don’t hold her appearance against her.

I guess Cannoli really likes cleaning up baby poop.

Gnocchi is hard at work learning to ride her bike. I love that her helmet has lemons on it. Perfection.

Ham introduced baby Injera to Edamame. She doesn’t look impressed.

That is your first grandchild. That’s cold.

Edamame: Um, that baby smelled like poop. I’m pretty sure he was just trying to get out of changing her diaper.

Jermaine often comes over after school to do his “homework” with Frosting.

Edamame: KEEP THEM AWAY FROM MY BEDROOM!

Gnocchi also has a friend coming over after school, Robin Pancakes. I feel like a connection between the Food and the Pancakes is meant to be. It must be so. Perhaps Gnocchi and Robin will be married when they are older.

Edamame: Maybe you shouldn’t plan their future together. I remember someone telling me that when I talked about Frosting’s future. Hah! A taste of your own medicine!

Oh yes, I felt that burn. That’s going to leave a scar. *eye-roll*

By the end of the week, Ham had gotten another promotion and Cannoli had maxed her career. That’s now two maxed careers which makes 2/17 of a point!

Edamame: THAT is depressing.

Yes it is.

Injera also aged into a sunny infant. Things were going so well for me this game week. I feel like it’s the calm before the storm.

Ham also aged up to his adult stage.

Frosting bailed on McKenna Scott and instead went to prom with her boyfriend, Jermaine Kealoha. That’s all I’m going to say about prom because it’s broken and never works for me.

That’s it for this update. I have more on its way.

Edamame: I feel like you just rushed that ending.

It’s hard when you forget why you took the pictures in the first place.

Points:
Previous Balance: 8
Portrait of Edamame and Adzuki: 1
Generation 2 aged to YA: 1
Egg Collection: 1
Total: 11

Leave a comment